Snapixel Magazine

Since October I’ve been involved in a San Francisco start-up, a photography magazine called Snapixel that features local and international work from up-and-coming photographers alongside established artists. Snapixel itself had been in production for over half a year before I was brought onboard. The former model of the magazine was to publish individual photographs or small sets of work in twos or threes, from contributors. Interesting in terms of a wide variety of images, but it didn’t add too much to the feeling of continuity in the magazine.

The magazine had very little writing in its early days and I was brought on to fix that problem. Starting out as merely a writer (albeit… for the entire magazine), my role developed into something of a jack-of-all-trades as I tapped into my design, interviewing, and research skills to help flesh out the rest of the magazine. We now focus on a couple featured editorials each issue, with additional short pieces and photo spreads.

As is with any start up, things were a little tough at the beginning with conceptualizing the magazine, the tone of the writing, the design, the kind of work we wanted to feature, but I’m really proud of the end result! Our upcoming February issue is pretty delicious, I must say, and I’ll post a link on this blog when it’s released.

So that’s what I’ve been doing in the past few months. I’ve moved on to a new endeavor, but I’ll still be involved with Snapixel in writing and design, and probably content generation. For this blog, I’ll post up some info, photos, and links to the different photographers I’ve worked with, so check back in a bit.

Here’s our previous issue if you want to check it out (Click and it will send you to a site where you can flip through the pages):

*Be sure to read the article (or at least look at the photos) about Jamie Livingston, the man who took a Polaroid every day for 18 years. Amazing dedication.

 

 

~ by robinlam on January 26, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
